Mute Song: Public Service Broadcasting – Every Valley

‘Every Valley’ is the brilliant third album from Public Service Broadcasting, the brainchild of London-based J. Willgoose, Esq. who, along with his drumming companion, Wrigglesworth, and their bass player, keys and horns man extraordinaire, JF Abraham, is on a quest to inform, educate and entertain audiences around the globe.

On ‘Every Valley’ Willgoose takes us on a journey down the mine-shafts of South Wales valleys. Yet the record is a metaphor for a much larger, global and social malaise, using the history of coal mining to shine a light on the disenfranchised. The album features guest vocals from James Dean Bradfield (Manic Street Preachers), Derbyshire trio Haiku Salut, the award winning Welsh singer Lisa Jen Brown, and Camera Obscura’s Tracyanne Campbell on lead single ‘Progress’.

Every Valley‘ hints at peaks and troughs, at the strength and solidity of the community, and the geographical reality of the industry.