Labrinth Signs Exclusive Songwriting Agreement with BMG

Chart-topping singer, songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Labrinth has signed a worldwide exclusive songwriting agreement with BMG.

Since 2010, Labrinth has amassed five Top 10 UK singles including ‘Let The Sunshine’, ‘Earthquake’, ‘Last Time’, ‘Jealous’ and Number One smash hit with Emeli Sande, ‘Beneath Your Beautiful’.

Meanwhile, Labrinth’s 2012 debut LP, Electronic Earth, peaked at number two and spent 42 weeks on the Official UK Albums Chart.

As well as his own solo material, Labrinth has written and produced for a number of big names including Rihanna, Emeli Sande, Kygo, The Weeknd, Plan B and Mike Posner. He has also collaborated on multiple occasions with Tinie Tempah, having produced and co-written the rapper’s groundbreaking debut single ‘Pass Out’, which landed at Number One on the charts and won gongs at both the 2011 BRIT and Ivor Novello Awards.

Several months later, the pair collaborated on Tinie Tempah’s ‘Frisky’ – also co-written by Labrinth – which debuted at number two in the UK charts.

Labrinth’s second album, Take Me To The Truth, is set for release later this year. Two singles from the LP were released in 2014 and firmly established themselves at the top end of the UK charts – ‘Jealous’ hit number seven on the Official UK Singles Chart with ‘Let It Be’ peaking at number 11.

Kate Sweetsur, BMG UK VP Creative, said: “We’re absolutely delighted to welcome Labrinth to BMG. The deal was very much a joint effort with Shani Gonzales in BMG’s LA office. Working internationally across everything we do is really important to us as a company.”

“Labrinth’s track record speaks for itself. He’s firmly established himself as a chart-topping artist, a highly sought after collaborator and one of the most exciting songwriters of his generation. Being able to add him to the BMG roster demonstrates our continued desire and ability to work with the best creative talent in the music industry today.”